Suspicious malicious files that are quarantined will remain isolated to prevent a computer infection.
This means that the suspected malicious file is not deleted but moved from its original location to a safe place on your computer so that it cannot run as a program.
Files can be quarantined indefinitely because in quarantine they are harmless and cannot infect your computer.
When deleting a file in quarantine, make sure it really is a malicious one and not a file that was falsely identified as malicious but which might belong to a program. Consequently, if you delete that file the program may not run anymore.
If a file was falsely identified as being infected, it can be restored from quarantine and reused right away.
- Open the Avira user interface and click Security → Quarantine.
- Tick the desired file and Rescan, Restore or Delete.