All files that are recognized as malware and moved to the quarantine, will be isolated from the rest of the computer system. Malware in the quarantine area is encrypted and can thus no longer cause any damage. Therefore, malware may be stored in an unlimited period in quarantine. (Default setting)
The quarantine keeps the malicious code safe to provide the opportunity for the user to verify whether it is a real malware or a false positive. Deleting a "false positive" may subsequently lead to a malfunction of an installed application or operating system. It can be verified via the Avira virus lab whether the file is malware.
- Once it is ensured that the file is malware the user has to delete it via the icon within the quarantine. After deletion, the file is completely removed from the system.
- If it has been established that the file is a false positive, it can be restored from the isolation to its original location using the available quarantine icon.