When suspected malicious files are quarantined, they remain isolated to prevent your computer becoming infected.
The suspected malicious file is not deleted but instead moved from its original location to a safe place on your computer where it is unable to run as a program.
Files in quarantine are harmless and cannot infect your computer. They can therefore be quarantined indefinitely.
When deleting a file in quarantine, make sure the file really is malicious (rather than falsely identified as malicious) and does not belong to a program. If the deleted file belongs to a program, the program may no longer run.
If a file has been falsely identified as infected, it can be restored from quarantine and used again right away.
- Open the Avira user interface and click Security → Quarantine.
- Select the desired file and Rescan, Restore or Delete.