If a file is suspected of being malicious Avira antivirus isolates the file in quarantine to prevent it from infecting the computer. This means that the suspected malicious file is not deleted but moved from its original location to a safe place on your computer so that it cannot run as a program.
Suspected malicious files in quarantine can be kept there indefinitely because they are harmless and cannot infect your computer.
When deleting a file in quarantine, make sure it really is a malicious one and not a file that was falsely identified as malicious but which might belong to a program. Consequently, if you delete that file the program may not run anymore.
If a file was falsely identified as being infected, it can be restored from quarantine and reused right away.
- Open the Avira user interface and click Security → Quarantine.
- Tick the desired file and Rescan, Restore or Delete.